FaeBook vs FaceBook
Domain Names December 6th, 2007
This is one weird scam. Someone registered the domain Faebook.com (Facebook without a C) and redirected it, using an iframe, to Amazon - of course, with his/her own Amazon referrals. It’s the good old tactics of using misspelled domain names for profit, but it’s uncommon to see such an obvious misspelling of a site as big as Faebook used like this.
Some have suggested this may be Amazon’s doing, but you can clearly see the difference in registration details here:
Domain Name: FAEBOOK.COM
Registrant [1003228]:
Moniker Privacy Services
20 SW 27th Ave.
Suite 201
Pompano Beach
FL
33069
US
Amazon’s own records look different:
Registrant:
Amazon.com, Inc
Legal Dept, P.O. Box 81226
Seattle, WA 98108-1226
US
Domain Name: AMAZON.COM
It will be interesting to see how this one pans out over the coming months.
PS: I wonder if anyone has registered Midacode.co.uk yet?
If you're new to midascode.co.uk and like what you read, you may wish to subscribe to our blog feed or sign up for free email updates. Thanks for your visit!
December 9th, 2007 at 8:59 am
Dean,
Off-topic, but I would love to see a post that showed a sample email you would send to a website owner that didn’t actually have their site listed for sale but that you stumbled across and were interested in purchasing…I’ve found several websites like this (good rankings but neglected/not updated & under-monetized), but it would be great to hear from someone with actual experience before I sent them any emails. Thanks in advance for your help!
December 27th, 2007 at 3:48 pm
Good point Tyler. I have my own tactic, but would like to see how others approach this.